ACCOMMODATION

joBerg2c provides a fully-supported race and amazing race villages. You’ll have your own tent if you’re riding solo, or you’ll share with your teammate. All you need to bring is a pillow and a sleeping bag.

However, we know that some will make use of the many B&B’s along the way. If you do decide to plan some of your own logistics, please understand we are unable to cater for supporters in the race villages.

Many of our schools and villages offer alternative accommodation to tents at their venue. From school hostels to luxury tents, this offers an awesome alternative to being in tents all week. A full list can be found here.

Below is a list of B&Bs for you to contact. Note the following:

  • joBerg2c does not take any responsibility for the quality of the B&Bs
  • You must arrange your own transport to and from the B&B’s.

For directions to all the race villages – click here.

The night before the start – 25th April

Our registration venue is at Kingsmead College, which is perfectly situated next to Gautrain Rosebank.
There is a number of hotels you can book with, ranging from budget to 5 star.

We recommend the Holiday Inn or the Courtyard Hotel, simply because they are directly across the road from Kingsmead College and the shuttle pick up.

1. Holiday Inn Rosebank – +2711 218 6000

Book using the block code – JH2-361712 and mail the reservations requests to shiwen@hi-rosebank.co.za

Includes Bed and Breakfast, wifi, storage and porter assistance.

  • Standard Single Room: R1450.00
  • Standard Double Room: R1650.00
    • For a family of 2 adults and 2 children under the age of 12  years old, we can offer 2 inter-leading room at a rate of R1450.00 per room per night.

2. Courtyard Hotel – +27 11 880 2989 or cyrose.resv@clhg.com

Other hotels in the area – within 200m of Kingsmead College:

1. Hyatt Regency Rosebank – +27 11 280 1234

2. The Winston Hotel – +2711 268 3140

3. The Hilton – +2711 788 0287

Others in the area:

1. 59 on Central

Bed and Breakfast
+2782 909 7878
Contact them on www.59oncentral.co.za

Heidelberg (near Karan Beef start):

Heidelberg is situated 70km’s outside of Johannesburg. If you book in this area, make sure to arrange your own transport to Karan Beef – the start.

AccommodationContact numberEmail address
Sionbergh B&B Santa: +27 84 515 4426info@sionbergh-accommodation.co.za
Le Bonheur Guesthouse+27 16 349 1803Specgame@hixnet.co.za
Die Dorps-Akker Gastehuis+27 72 642 7378Dorpsakker@lantic.net
Heidelberg Guesthouse+27 16 349 5387Info@heidelbergguesthouse.co.za
Suikerbosrand Guesthouse27 163 417 671bookings@SuikerbosrandGuesthouse.co.za
Derozenhof+27 16 341 3550Deronzenhof@absamail.co.za
Van Dykshuis Guesthouse+27 16 341 4474dykshuis@gmail.com
Heidelberg Kloof Lodge+27 87 942 5502info@heidelbergklooflodge.co.za
Coeria Lodge+27 83 419 7899coeria@lantic.net
Madeleins B&B - 40km from the startmadeleine2streich@gmail.co

Frankfort – 26th April (end of day 1)

Name Contact PersonEmailPhone numberWebsiteType Km from Race Village
ShuttleGrading level
Victorian ManorSusan de Klerk /Quintin du plessissusan@victorianmanor.co.za+27828043461 / +27824473394www.victorianmanor.co.za
Bed and Breakfast3No4 Star
Siesta GuesthouseIna or Surinainfo@siestaguesthouse.co.za+27793824900 / +27824412743www.siestaguesthouse.co.zaBed and Breakfast10No4 Star
Kasteelkop GuestfarmErika Lessingerikaolessing@gmail.com+27828500170kasteelkopguesthouse.netHouse30No4 Star
De Hoek Guest HouseMagdakrinofrankfort@gmail.com+27725977434Bed an Breakfast1No4 Star

Reitz – 27th April (end of day 2)

NameContact PersonEmailPhone numberWebsiteTypeKM from the Race VillageShuttleGrading level
Poelanies GuesthouseNeelsinfo@poelanies.co.za+27825646693http://www.poelanies.co.zaBed and Breakfast2Yes4 Star
Absolute GuesthouseRonel Mullerabsoluteguesthouse1@gmail.com
+27825639449Bed and Breakfast2.5YesNot Graded

 

Sterkfontein – 28th April (end of day 3)

Name Contact PersonEmailPhone numberWebsiteType KM from the Race VillageShuttleGrading level
Where The River RunsDiana Odendaaldi@eykendal.co.za+27834001303https://www.safarinow.com/go/wheretheriverrunsharrismith/House3Yes3 Star
Windmill FarmAngieinfo@windmillfarm.co.za+27720100004www.windmillfarm.co.zaOther12NoNot Graded
Dumbe CottagesElma Prinsloodumbe@bergmail.co.za+27827790723www.dumbe.co.zaOther17NoNot Graded
The Phatt Chef Roadside Diner and B&BJenna & Meganphattchef.accomm@gmail.com+27716963000www.phattchef.co.zaBed and Breakfast20YesNot Graded
Greensleeves Guest HouseAlet Kleynhanskleynhans@ohs.dorea.co.za+27823782639www.harrismithguesthouse.co.zaBed and Breakfast24Yes3 Star
Sir Harry's LodgeAmanda Deyselamanda@sirhl.co.za+27586222151http://sirharrys.co.za/Bed and Breakfast24.5NoNot Graded
Lali's Guest HouseRia van Dykria@lalisguesthouse.co.za+27834693513www.lalisguesthouse.co.zaBed and Breakfast25NoNot Graded
Shady Pines GuesthouseAneinfo@shadypines.co.za+27724802677www.shadypines.co.zaBed and Breakfast25NoNot Graded
Rose Garden Manor HouseGill Weavergill@ohs.dorea.co.za+27833015936Bed and Breakfast25YesNot Graded
Little Switzerland ResortGlen Haddendi@eres@lsh.co.za+27364382500ww.lsh.co.zaBed and Breakfast30NoNot Graded
WaaidamWillem Lombardinfo@waaidam.co.za+27823441731www.waaidam.co.zaBed and Breakfast35YesNot Graded
Mountainview Inn Leonora mountainviewinn@draadloze.co.za+27795110777www.bergview.co.zaHotel38.6NoNot Graded

Winterton – 29th April (end of day 4)

Please note that a FREE shuttle will run from Emseni Camp to Winterton town and back on the hour on Day 4 and early in the morning on Day 5.

NameContact PersonEmailPhone numberWebsiteTypeKM from the Race VillageShuttleGrading level
Spionkop LodgeLynette or Patriciaspionkop@futurenet.co.za+27364881404www.spionkop.co.za Hotel2.5YesTripavdisor 2018 Certificate of excellence
Ambleside CottageTracy Luffinghamtracyluffingham@amblesidefarm.co.za+27826145624www.amblesidefarm.co.zaHouse8NoNot Graded
Drakensview Self CateringValita Klopperdrakensview.selfc@gmail.com+27836282004www.facebook.com/drakensview/photos_stream#Other10NoNot Graded
Wild Wing LodgeWayne Dunnewayne@wildwingsafaris.com+27837820509www.wildwinglodge.co.zaBed and Breakfast12NoNot Graded
Lilac Lodge Purple HouseSusanpurple@futurenet.co.za
+27722749485www.lilaclodge.co.zaBed and Breakfast13NoNot Graded
Winterton Country Lodge @RoseCottageJeunesse McCallaghanwcl@rosecottagebnb.co.za+27828043774www.wintertoncountrylodge.comBed and Breakfast14No4.5 Star
Lilac Lodge/Purple HouseSusan le Grangepurple@futurerenet.co.za+27722749485lilaclodge.co.zaBed and Breakfast15NoNot Graded
Mountain Splendour Eco-ResortReceptioninfo@mountainsplendour.co.za
+27364681172www.mountainsplendour.co.zaOther25YesNot Graded
Cathkin Cottage B&BLeila Doddscathkin@mweb.co.za
+27824018672www.cathkincottage.co.zaBed and Breakfast26YesDrakensberg Experience
Drakensberg Bush lodgeEmiledrakensberglodge@mweb.co.za
+27364881544www.drakensberglodge.co.zaHouse, Other26.2No
Misty peaksLyn and Kevinreservations@mistypeaks.co.za
+27835802682www.mistypeaks.co.zaOther30No4 Star
Little Acres B&BBelindalittle.acres@live.co.za
+27823053387www.littleacres.co.zaBed and Breakfast35No
Ama Casa CottagesLes Goldsworthyinfo@amacasa.co.za+27810211773Other35NoNone (Tripadvisor cert of Excellence)
Gooderson Monks Cowl Golf ResortDonald Kileymonksres@goodersons.co.za
+27364681300www.goodersonleisure.co.zaHotel37NoBusy Grading
Hill Billy CottagesMrs Hilda Thornhillhillbillies@lantic.net
+27849857213Other39NoNone
Ama Casa CottagesLes Goldsworthyinfo@amacasa.co.za
+27810211773www.amacasa.co.zaOther40NoNot Graded
Bell Park B&B and self cateringRosemarybonnie@megawifi.co.za
+27835802186Bed and Breakfast43Yes2 stars
Cathedral Peak HotelReservations Departmentreservations@cathedralpeak.co.za
+27364881888www.cathedralpeak.co.zaHotel59.8No4 Star
The Nest Hotel Lindi Zondi reservations@thenest.co.za
+27364681068www.thenest.co.zaHotel13No3 Star

Nottingham Road area – 30th April (end of day 5)

Within 5km’s on Clifton Prep

NameContact PersonEmailPhone numberWebsiteType KM from the Race VillageShuttleGrading level
The Nottingham Road HotelCareyreservations@Nottieshotel.co.za+27332666151www.Nottieshotel.co.zaHotel2Yes3 Star
Devonshire CottageSally Berrimansalber@michaelhouse.org+2784422248Other2NoNot Graded
Aladdin's Chameleon Overnight AccommodationLouise or Janinfo@aladdins.co.za+27332666460www.accommodation.aladdins.co.zaOther5NoNot Graded
Fordoun Richard Batesrichard@fordoun.com+27823342189www.fordoun.comHotel8Yes5 Star
FarSide FarmRyaninfo@farsidefarm.co.za+27833915505www.farsidefarm.co.zaBed and Breakfast10NoNot Graded
Glen Afton Country HouseDebbiebookings@glenafton.co.za+27834696501www.glenafton.co.zaBed and Breakfast12.6No4 Star
Twin Pools LodgeBrianbookings@twinpools.co.za+27790960792www.twinpools.co.zaBed and Breakfast13YesNot Graded
Waterwoods EstateJeanette Pezadmin@waterwoods.co.za+27828915975www.waterwoods.co.zaOther18NoAA highly recomended
Loxley HouseAngie Hunterwelcome@loxleyhouse.com+27332666362www.loxleyhouse.comHotel500mYes4 Star

Underberg/Sani/Himeville area – 1st May (end of day 6)

NameContact PersonEmailPhone numberWebsiteTypeKM from the Race VillageShuttleGrading level
Karmichael FarmGregg McDonaghinfo@karmichaelfarm.co.za+27337021062www.karmichaelfarm.co.zaBed and Breakfast4YesNot Graded
Moorcroft Manor Boutique Country HotelGoolu Kropfinfo@moorcroft.co.za+27337021967 / +27710277867www.moorcroft.co.zaHotel5No4 Star
Sani Lodge Backpackers and Honey Guide CottagesRussell Suchetinfo@sanilodge.co.za+27337020330www.sanilodge.co.zaOther6No4 Star
Montague Farm Sue Littleslittle60@yahoo.co.uk+27822909770Other6Yes
Premier Hotel Himeville ArmsFrancois van ZylFrancois.v@premierhotels.co.za+27861115555 / +27337021305https://www.premierhotels.co.za/hotels/kwazulu-natal/himeville-arms/Bed and Breakfast7No2 Star
Premier Resort Sani Pass - Southern DrakensbergSefton Cramersanipass.res@premierhotels.co.za+27861115555 / +27337021320https://www.premierhotels.co.za/hotels/kwazulu-natal/sani-pass/Hotel8.3No4 Star
Khotso Lodge and Horse TraisAlexis Boyleinfo@khotso.co.za+27824125540www.khotso.co.zaOther10YesNot Graded
Cedar Garden B&BHelga Mcleaninfo@cedargarden.co.za+27836484111www.cedargarden.co.zaBed and Breakfast12YesNot Graded
Over The Edge CottagesBrenda Crawfordblcrawley@outlook.com+27846572764House12NoNot Graded
Sani WindowNichola Lemmon-Wardesaniwindow@gmail.com+27337010022www.saniwindow.co.zaBed and Breakfast12.1NoNot Graded
Eagles Rock Mountain RetreatBobby / Philnainfo@eaglesrock.co.za+27827811430www.eaglesrock.co.zaOther15No3 Star
Riverlea FarmKatherine Flemingtonriverleafarm99@gmail.com+27825078588www.riverlea.co.zaHouse, Other17NoNot Graded
Valemount Country LodgeLynne Tarraccounts@warrigal.co.za+27832629783www.valemountafrica.comBed and Breakfast20Yes4 Star - AA Travel
Pennygum cottagesSarah Cooperinfo@pennygum.co.za+27825448627www.pennygum.co.zaHouse20NoNot Graded
Stoneyhall FarmSantie Perkinssantie@stoneyhall.co.za+27724474340www.stoneyhall.co.zaOther22NoNot Graded
Eland Valley ResortNazeeraelandvalley@telkomsa.net+27828474053www.elandvalley.co.zaOther25NoNot Graded
Penwarn Country LodgeConrad Fraserinfo@penwarn.com+27767902419www.penwarn.comOther37NoNot Graded
Silverstreams Caravan ParkMadie Bothainfo@silverstreams.co.za+27823316670www.silverstreams.co.zaHouse, Other40YesNot Graded
Underberg AccommodationLana Jover info@underbergaccommodation.co.za+27827234528www.underbergaccommodation.co.zaBed and Breakfast, House, OtherNo2 / 3 Star

Ixopo (about 30 mins drive from MacKenzie, 35 mins drive from Jolivet) and surrounding area – 2nd and 3rd May  (end of day 7 & 8)

NameContact PersonEmailPhone numberWebsiteType KM from the Race VillageShuttleGrading level
Rose Garden Cottage and Stone Family Rooms RoomsJules Stonejulesstone@vodamail.co.za+27824104959Other2.5NoNot Graded
Emerald Dale FarmhouseRoxanneroxanneantel@gmail.com+27844962424House5NoNot Graded
Myddelton FarmLinda Hodson myddeltonfarm@gmail.com< +27718705755www.myddeltonfarm.co.zaOther16YesNot Graded
Trevelen Country Cottage B & BMerredy Louwrenstrevelen@futurenet.co.za+27828206737www.trevelen.co.zaBed and Breakfast50NoNot Graded

Scottburgh – 4th May (end of day 9)

Scottburgh transport service – please request this from your hotel or B&B or you can contact :

  • Mr Sighn – +27 (83) 542 0120
  • Basil – +27 (84) 420 6282
  • Masu – +27 (72) 890-8772‬

Blue Marlin Hotel:

  • Situated 1.9km from the finish
  • The hotel will arrange to pick you up at Scottburgh School finish and transport you and your bike to the hotel
  • One of the pick-up points for the Sunday shuttle to King Shaka airport at 08h00
  • Visit their website or email them info@bluemarlin.co.za
  • They will provide shuttles from the Finish, and to and from the After Party at scheduled times. Please inquire directly with Reception.

Premier Resort Cutty Sark:

  • Situated 2.7km from the finish
  • The hotel will arrange to pick you up at Scottburgh School finish and transport you and your bike to the hotel
  • Visit their website or email them: hotel@cuttysark.co.za
  • Please use JHB2C in your booking for a special rate
  • One of the pick-up points for the Sunday shuttle to King Shaka airport at 08h00
  • They will provide shuttles from the Finish, and to and from the After Party at an additional cost. Please inquire directly with Reception.

Shark and Shoal:

  • For cyclists who want to spend a few days relaxing after completing Old Mutual joBerg2c
  • Offering luxury accommodation in the beautiful Umkomaas Valley
  • Bed and Breakfast and self-catering options
  • Visit their website for more information.

Other accommodation in the area

NameContact Person EmailPhone numberWebsiteType Distance from Scottburgh Primary SchoolDistance from Scottburgh Golf ClubShuttle from the Finish and After partyGrading level
Rocky Bay ResortsReceptionlodge@rockybay.co.za+27399760336www.rockybay.co.zaOther55Yes3 Star
Casa Mia Kobus de Kockinfo@casamiakzn.co.za+27834915148 or +27399732170www.casamiakzn.co.zaOther9.59NoNot Graded
Ocean Park Guest HouseGuidoinfo@oceanpark.co.za+27399732657www.oceanpark.co.zaBed and Breakfast90.8No4 Star
Bush Lodge.James or Sean Killoran.bushlodgekilloran@scottnet.co.za+27824695906www.wheretostay.co.za/bushlodgeOther54YesNot Graded
Caravan CoveBonnycaravancove@scottburgh.co.za+27399761215www.caravancove.co.zaCamping66.5YesNot Graded